Build Your Ark

There are so many different people in the Bible whose journeys I relate to, but Noah was my inspiration when it came to H’s adoption in a way I didn’t expect.  
The first week I met H, God clearly said to me: “This is your son.” It was illogical. At the time I was also fostering H’s biological brother, J (currently being adopted with a biological sister into a different family), and I couldn’t understand why I was only to adopt H. 

But that was only the beginning; the foster case ended up being full of so many twists and turns, so many unexpected victories and defeats. 

The worst defeat that ended up being the biggest blessing was when I had to have H and his brother moved to another foster family. J had significant needs that I couldn’t meet being a single parent with a full time job. 

I told our worker that J needed to be in a two-parent family with a stay at home mom, other children in the home, and pets. God delivered every single thing on my wish list, and then some. 

During the six months H lived in another foster home, the foster family and I became friends and they graciously allowed me to spend as much time as possible with H. 

They later admitted that they (along with many others) thought I was crazy for thinking I’d be able to adopt H when all the signs weren’t in my favor, but they generously gave me the benefit of the doubt, and when the time came, recommended me to adopt H. 

I took God at His word and believed in my heart that H was my son. I will never forget the look on my poor foster care licensing worker’s face when she saw I’d decorated his bedroom and hung up the letter “H” to signify it was his room. At the time he wasn’t even my foster child, so I understood her trepidation. 

I kept building my “ark” one day at a time, trusting God would keep His word. 15 months after God spoke to my heart, H became my son forever. 

I learned a truly invaluable lesson: when God tells you to build your ark, you’d better pick up the hammer and get to work!

“By faith, Noah built a ship in the middle of dry land. He was warned about something he couldn’t see, and acted on what he was told. The result? His family was saved. His act of faith drew a sharp line between the evil of the unbelieving world and the rightness of the believing world. As a result, Noah became intimate with God.” Hebrews‬ ‭11:7‬ ‭MSG‬‬

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

